Short, quick, spur-of-the-moment posts. Most often in-game commentary.

Zverev wins the racket-smashing battle, Thiem wins the match

February 16, 2017 2

Dominic Thiem scored a much-needed win on Wednesday night in Rotterdam, where he got the best of good friend Alexander Zverev 3-6, 6-3, 6-4 during first-round action. But the battle within the battle involved racket-smashing, and Zverev was arguably more impressive in that department. […]

Shapovalov blast into umpire’s eye ends Davis Cup tie in default

February 6, 2017 12

Last weekend’s first-round Davis Cup tie between Great Britain and Canada could not have ended in more bizarre fashion. In the decisive fifth rubber, Canada’s Denis Shapovalov was defaulted in the third set for smacking a ball in frustration that torpedoed right into the chair umpire’s eye. […]

Kyrgios wears “F— Donald Trump” shirt following win over Nadal

January 9, 2017 656

Nick Kyrgios may have made another enemy on Monday. But he may have made more than a few friends, as well. Following his 4-3 2-4 4-3 4-3 4-3 Fast4 format win over Rafael Nadal in Sydney, Kyrgios wore a shirt depicting United States President-elect Donald Trump in devil horns with the statement “F— Donald Trump” written below. […]

Risky racket business for Djokovic in win over Berdych

June 2, 2016 4

Novak Djokovic came close to crashing out of the French Open on Thursday–but not because of anything quarterfinal opponent Tomas Berdych did. After failing to convert a break point at 1-0 in the third set, Djokovic flung his racket behind him in the direction of a linesman. […]

Thiem does it again, gives point to Dolgopolov in Rome

May 10, 2016 2

For the second time this year, Dominic Thiem gave a point to an opponent despite the chair umpire calling for it to be replayed. The latest act of sportsmanship came during the third set of Thiem’s Rome opener against Alexandr Dolgopolov on Monday. […]

Tomic tanks match point by trying to hit ball with handle

May 5, 2016 3

During first-round action at the Mutua Madrid Open earlier this week, Bernard Tomic tanked the last point of his match against Fabio Fognini by “attempting” to return serve with the handle of his racket. Not surprisingly, it resulted in a clinching ace for Fognini. […]

1 2 3 9