Thiem does it again, gives point to Dolgopolov in Rome

For the second time this year, Dominic Thiem gave a point to an opponent despite the chair umpire calling for it to be replayed.

Serving at 3-3, 40-15 in the third set against Alexandr Dolgopolov during first-round action at the Internazionali BNL d’Italia on Monday, Thiem struck a backhand that sailed out just as Dolgopolov’s previous shot had been called long. The Ukrainian’s backhand, however, was shown to have hit the line–prompting the chair umpire to call a replay. Thiem, however, said that the out call did not affect his own shot and therefore Dolgopolov should be awarded the point.

The 15th-ranked Austrian won the ensuing 40-30 point to hold serve, and he eventually prevailed 6-3, 3-6, 6-4.

Thiem had previously displayed a similar act of sportsmanship at the Australian Open. In a third-round showdown between Thiem and David Goffin, the Belgian hit a return that was called long. But he issued a challenge and his shot was shown to have skimmed off the line, after which Thiem shanked a forehand out of the court. The chair umpired called for the 15-all point to be played again, but Thiem conceded it to Goffin.

The 22-year-old eventually lost the game to put the second set back on serve. He bounced back to win the set before ultimately losing the match 6-1, 3-6, 7-6(2), 7-5.

2 Comments on Thiem does it again, gives point to Dolgopolov in Rome

Comments are closed.